bob_marlo

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Locationsj river

Posted 15 November 2011 - 05:40 PM

hey all,

the "grand lake report" caught my eye and I am thrilled to hear about the action being so close to where i live. i'm still somewhat new to NS and have spent most of my time fishing smallies and most recently muskie up in NB. While i have spent lots of time fishing the bay, i was just looking for some info on fishing grand lake for stripers (specifically this time of year). Mostly wondering how late in the year is good, and just some general tactics. Most of my muskie gear (6"-10" crank and jerk baits) works for the big bass when trolling in the SJ river. I've heard top water baits (personal fave) are good but does that hold true this late in the season? Also what kind of territory do the bass like (depth, structure, etc)? I did spend some time trolling with bigger baits in grand this summer, and ended up just catching smallies all day (not a bad thing i guess)

any kind of advice to get me started would be greatly appreciated and i'll add in that i am a strictly C&R fisherman with the proper big game nets that allow you to unhook your fish boat side while they are still in the water to avoid any harm.

thx

#2 darren

darren

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 113 posts
  • LocationSeabright NS

Posted 16 November 2011 - 10:06 AM

Well, it appears that you have the right gear for stripers. You need to take a look at Grand, I'd recommend google maps. The south end of the lake has the only open launch now.
As far as where to find the fish, just start looking. A good sonar is a must. It's not the fish you'll see most of the time, but the schools of bait, that help you narrow down the search areas. I've found big fish in less than 3 feet of water, and smaller ones in 80 feet, so it pays to move around. Right now the water temps are great, and with all the wind we've had the lake has turned over at least three times.